First Book Review

Hola!

In My Last Post, I figured out that I would have to read a book every week in order to read 50 books this year. I decided that I’m gonna give a book review each week hopefully and see what happens.

This week’s book was ‘Fantastic Beasts And Where To Find Them‘ (the script book) by JK Rowling.

So you may not know this but I am a potter head, and for those of you that don’t know what I’m on about, it means I’m a Harry Potter fan. So this book is part of the Harry potter universe but has nothing to do with the plot of Harry Potter. That being said It is mentioned in Harry Potter. Basically, Fantastic beast and where to find them is a textbook mentioned in the harry potter books and JK rowling wrote it up for comic relief one year along with the tales of Beedle and bard and quidditch through the ages. She then announced that it was being made into a film and she was, in fact, writing the screenplay unlike when the harry potter films were made into films. So naturally I was very excited.

The story follows the adventure of Newt Scamander who is the wizard equivalent of a zoologist but its a  bit more than that. He travels around the world nursing ill and abused magical beasts and sets them free. When he comes to New York to collect a new magical beast, his case, that is charmed so that its bigger on the inside (Big enough to get in and live there), comes open and some creatures come loose and wreck slight havoc on new york. Newt, along with muggle (non-magical person) Jacob Kowalski, Tina Goldstein and her sister Queenie (Both witches), travel around New York searching for the beasts, all while being on the run from the magical headquarters that want them dead.

The story is light and fluffy with a slightly darker side and I LOVE it. I sometimes struggle to get into script type books but not on this occasion. I was hooked by the fifth word and I’m ready to read it all over again. It’s safe to say I have fallen head over heels in love with the main characters and look forward to the next movie and hopefully book that come out next year. The fact that I loved the Harry Potter series may have contributed to my love of ‘Fantastic Beasts’ but my younger siblings (Ages nine and seven) loved this film and they have never even seen Harry Potter.  I would recommend this book (And the film as well) to anyone and everyone!

Rating – 4.9/5

I know that you may read this and not adore it as much as I do but its only my opinion. Feel free to share your thoughts if you have read this before. Also, have you got any suggestions for books that I should read? Please share them with me!

Well, See You Later!

 

 

3 thoughts on “First Book Review

    1. JustMe

      It’s quite nice really, because ‘Fantastic Beasts’ is still in theatre the book gives you the chance to relive the story over and over again without paying every time!

      Like

Leave a Reply

